New Delhi: Tabla maestro Zakir Hussain and famous old style artists Sonal Mansingh, Jatin Goswami (Sattriya) and K Kalyanasundaram Pillai (Bharatanatyam) were given the Sangeet Natak Akademi’s esteemed cooperations Tuesday. The Akademi additionally reported 44 beneficiaries of its honors for the year 2018.

The names were picked at the Akademi meeting held June 26 at Guwahati.

The cooperation — called ‘Akademi Ratna’ — is esteemed a desired and uncommon respect, as there are just 40 colleagues at some random time.

The Akademi’s General Council additionally chose 44 artistes from the field of music, move, theater over the conventional, society, and inborn classes, puppetry and by and large commitment/grant to the performing expressions for the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) for 2018.

In music, the awardees are: Mani Prasad and Madhup Mudgal (Hindustani Vocal), Tarun Bhattacharya (santoor), Tejendra Narayan Majumdar (sarod), Alamelu Mani and Malladi Suribabu (Carnatic vocal), Suresh Wadkar and Shanti Hiranand (Sugam Sangeet) and H Ashangbi Devi (Nata Sankirtana).

Joint honors were S Kasim and S Babu for the Nagaswaram instrument, and to Ganesh and Kumaresh for violin.

In the field of move, Radha Sridhar has won it for Bharatanatyam, Akham Lakshmi Devi for Manipuri, Pasumurthy Ramalinga Sastry for Kuchipudi, Surupa Sen for Odissi, Tankeswar Hazarika Borbayan for Sattriya, Gopika Varma for Mohiniyattam, Tapan Kumar Pattanayak for Chhau, and Deepak Mazumdar for contemporary move.

Kathak artists Ishira and Maulik Shah have won the honor together.

For theater, the Akademi grant has been given to Rajiv Naik and Laltluangliana Khiangte for playwriting, Sanjay Upadhyay and S Raghunandana for course, Suhas Joshi and Teekam Joshi for acting, and Swapan Nandy for emulate.

Bhagawat AS Nanjappa has won the respect for Yakshagana and AM Parameswaran Kuttan Chakkiyar for Kutiyattam.

For society music, the awardees are Malini Awasthi (Uttar Pradesh), Gazi Khan Barna (Rajasthan), and Narendar Singh Negi (Uttrakhand).

Mohd. Sadiq Bhagat has won it for Jammu and Kashmir’s society theater Bhand Pather, Kota Sachidanand Shastry for Andhra Pradesh’s Harikatha, Arjun Singh Dhruve for Madhya Pradesh’s people move, Somnath Battu for Himachal Pradesh’s society music, Anupama Hoskere for puppetry and Hem Chandra Goswami for veil making.

“Diwan Singh Bajeli and Puru Dadhich have been chosen for the Akademi Award 2018 in the field of Overall Contribution/Scholarship in the Performing Arts,” the Akademi said.

The Akademi partnership conveys a money prize of Rs 3 lakh while the Akademi grant has Rs 1 lakh. The honors will be given by the President at an induction service later.

The Akademi Awards, gave since 1952, not just symbolize the most elevated standard of greatness and accomplishments, yet in addition perceive supported individual work and commitment, it said.

Alongside the cooperations and the principle grants, the Akademi likewise declared 32 youthful beneficiaries of the Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar for 2018.

Named after the shehnai maestro, the honor is exhibited to artistes, over the fields of music, move, theater and other performing expressions, matured underneath 40 years with the goal of distinguishing and empowering extraordinary youthful ability in different fields of performing expressions and giving them national acknowledgment from the get-go in their life.

The prize conveys a money measure of Rs 25,000 and will be displayed to the awardees at an extraordinary function.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *